I last wrote about Seeking Alpha about a year and a half ago. It might be worth refreshing your memory, including reading the comments after the post. Just about three months ago, John at Controlled Greed quit contributing to Seeking Alpha, and the comments are, again, illuminating.
The genesis of this post? Just last week I got an email from one of the Editors at Seeking Alpha, asking if I were interested in contributing. In reply, I asked what the revenue percentage split would be, for ads served over my content. Answer? Zero. Then I asked the Editor who solicited me if they could provide the clickthru rates, viewership amounts, and eCPM numbers for Seeking Alpha, so that I could evaluate the relative benefits of the increased exposure that contributing would provide; it was at this point that this Editor checked around, saw I was a former contributor who had left, and politely declined to provide the information, and responded that if I should ever reconsider, I should contact them.
Like I’ve said before, playing with aggregators is a business exchange, wherein a contributor submits material in return for increased “exposure” - much of which will probably be identified with the site and not with the author - and with a very small percentage of that “exposure” being clickthru traffic that the author could potentially monetize. The aggregator gets content to sell ads over. That’s not exploitation. That’s business. I’m just explaining the business, primarily for the benefit of those who haven’t looked at it very closely, and may have thus made ill-informed decisions.
I don’t have enough information to be definitive, but I think I can get into the right general ballpark, despite having to make many assumptions, so I’m gonna have a go at it.
Seeking Alpha currently generates in the neighborhood of $210 of revenue from every article that they post, and in the neighborhood of $375,000 per month total. Do the math of 15 million monthly page views, 85 articles per weekday, 21 weekdays a month, and a $25 eCPM ad rate (total for all seven-ish ad units per page served).
We can see the economics of the split without considering the monetization rates.
Just adding more posts from more writers doesn’t necessarily add more “fresh” eyeballs; some portion of the increased page views from additional posts will just be “stickier” customers that might drag down the eCPM. Let’s assume 1 out of every 3 additional views garnered from additional content is a “new” set of eyeballs. Let’s also assume that a new writer with 20 posts a month increases total views by 20 ÷ 1785 = 1.12%, with 1/3rd of those being “new” views. That makes 0.0112 ÷ 3 * 15,000,000 = 56,022 new views every month for Seeking Alpha.
The increased “exposure” a new contributor gets, is that poster’s equal-weighted share of posts, adjusted for the new viewership. Let’s say they get 1.12% of 15,056,022 views, or 168,695 views of their articles a month, which for most writers is a bonanza. How many of those clickthru to visit the author’s homepage, and present an opportunity for the author to monetize them? Consider the fact that articles are presented in their entirety at Seeking Alpha, with the opportunity for comments and discussion at Seeking Alpha, and one can visit all the other (market-related and vetted by SA editors) posts by the author, as well as a short “bio” page for the author, without leaving the confines of Seeking Alpha. Also consider that readers, even “sophisticated readers,” of SA are likely to consider content there to be “Seeking Alpha’s,” and not that of an independent contributor. I would say that a clickthru rate of 0.5% is on the high side. That makes 0.005 * 168,695 = 843 views to the author every month.
So absent considerations of monetization rate, the author who contributes to Seeking Alpha gets 843 new monthly views on their site (which they could potentially monetize), and provides new customers to Seeking Alpha (which Seeking Alpha could potentially monetize) worth about 56,022 new views. That’s 66 to 1! Considering that Seeking Alpha is going to have a lot more clout with advertisers than I will, is it any wonder that I asked for my cut? It’s hard to monetize viewers that don’t visit!
Feel free to plug in whatever assumptions you personally think are reasonable; even if only one of ten viewers of the new author were new to the site, and the author clickthru rate were a full 1% (double my assumption), it would still be a 10 to 1 exchange … and none of my numbers consider the natural failure and replacement rate of the current authors, and the fact that they have to continuously recruit new contributors just to keep the current pace of posting up. For example, they currently list 98 “gold star” contributors, but there’s at least one in there that no longer participates, even though he’s still actively writing about stocks – he just hasn’t asked (yet?) for his older material to be removed. There may be others like that.
This “benefit split,” wherein the contributor gets a great deal on non-monetizable “exposure” but very few monetizable page views, while providing a great many monetizable page views to Seeking Alpha – who can command better monetization rates – is the reason that many would-be, used-to-be, and current contributors have pressed, and continue to press for, an advertising revenue split – which Seeking Alpha won’t provide. What would motivate someone to contribute without any kind of economic split?
(1) There aren’t too many “long tail” bloggers as contributors. I believe that the few “long tail” contributors they have, are motivated by the “make ya famous” phenomenon. Either the idea of hundreds of thousands of readers wets their whistle, or they are gunning for (or dreaming of) a job as a freelance Street writer. Most of the contributors are selling newsletters or financial services.
(2) I venture that many contributors haven’t even examined the mechanics of the aggregating business, and simply figure that it’s increased exposure for them, with little-to-no marginal effort on their part, so it’s gotta be a good thing.
(3) Those newsletter-sellers and money managers who haven’t explicitly looked at the math from both sides are probably just grateful for the incremental increase in traffic they can monetize. 843 extra page views a month can be useful for fund managers soliciting new clients. If these money managers aren’t also established or semi-established bloggers, then a few hundred extra monthly chances to solicit clients may be the difference between a growth rate in assets under management, and a failure to replace clients that leave.
(4) If the newsletter-sellers and money managers have looked at the math, maybe they don’t mind somebody else making more than they make on the deal, as long as they DO make that incremental money on their advertising or newsletter/membership sales. If they’re fishing for big clients, or selling an expensive newsletter, then maybe their eCPM is high enough that it makes the inequitable page view split irrelevant. If their income is “lumpy” from high-price product conversions, they may feel that they need to have their name out there as much as possible, and they see the money that SA makes off of their writing as a “client finder’s fee.”
Where do I fit in? I don’t currently monetize traffic effectively enough (no paid newsletter or asset management services) to make the traffic split seem fair to me, and I’m not so desperate for nickels and pennies that I’m willing to enter a business transaction that generates dollars for the partner, without asking for my cut. I’m not motivated by the “fame” of becoming a paid writer (freelance or salaried), but I enjoy writing and would accept reasonable job offers in that regard – “reasonable” meaning those that paid comparable to other market writers with multiple years of experience. So that leaves me as a non-contributor for now. That might change in the future, but right now I don’t see it.





16 Comments
Bill,
Excellent breakdown - just as you did last time. I too, got the e-mail asking to contribute but I had to pass for many of the reasons you talk about.
Thanks for the detailed breakdown that I didn’t ven start to calculate.
-Chris
Bill,
Without writing a long tome I think you should reconsider.
My 2 cents:
There are very few financial writers that make their bread and butter from writing articles (even for the large publications). If at some point down the road you might decide to write a newsletter or book…or decide to work as a consultant, speaker, etc.. Any traffic to your site can serve as a kickstart.
In your calculations you forget to calculate the value of repeats - and also forgot to consider the link juice from a site with a page rank 6 to your site (page rank 4). Getting links from sites with high page rank and highly relevant keywords is worth something.
I haven’t seen any drop off in my blog’s readership since leaving Seeking Alpha, so I doubt I was getting any kind of traffic to my site from being an SA contributor.
Excellent post, Bill. The breakdown is excellent.
One more thing I’ll add:
When I told SA that I no longer would be contributing, I asked that my profile and old posts be removed from their site. They said they couldn’t do that. I don’t think they’re making $$$ on any of that, but I think not removing my profile (at least) and older posts was tacky.
Tom K., let’s take a look at that.
Maybe few writers make a living writing because they sell themselves short, not knowing how much is made by the publisher - off of their writings.
About 15% of my traffic is off of keyword searches. Maybe my Google page rank goes up slightly thanks to a PR6 site linking in a few more times than they do now, and I write a post about “jabberwocky.” Since that post would be repeated on Seeking Alpha, which will still have a higher PR than I do, they would come up before I would on any Google search for “jabberwocky,” and get more hits out of the deal than I would. So the repeats - and the benefit of search engine traffic - stack to the favor of SA.
[EDIT TO ADD: Tom K., see point (1) under “What would motivate…”, where I clearly mention that job-hunting aspiring writers might be OK with the exposure sans chance of monetization. Even though a major financial publication miscredited a Footnoted post as being Seeking Alpha’s material, I’m sure there are SOME financial publications smart enough to recognize the SA model and scout through the posts for prospective talent. If said talent sees the inequitable page view and monetization split as an acceptable part of their job search, well, good for them. They should know, however, what the economics of the decision are. END EDIT]
John, think about the search engine bit, plus the internal searches for tickers (like GM) that you’ve written about. They’ll still come up and still have ads served on them.
Bill,
Interesting post.
You make some valid points, and I’ll bet you’re one of the very few who have bothered to try and figure out the math on this deal. Read this post last night, and while I didn’t fully understand all of the details about “eCPM” and the like, I definitely see your point.
I do contribute to Seeking Alpha on occasion. I have thought through many of the issues you brought up in your post. And not just in terms of SA, but any site that is in business to serve ads on your content, or will try and claim ownership of your content in creating “derivative works”, etc.
For web writers and bloggers, testing out the various blog aggregators and syndication services can be a bit like navigating through a content-claiming minefield. That’s why I like to get input on any of these services from people who have already checked them out and contributed. So, good post!
The viewership assumptions can be considered without regard to the monetization of views, which de facto assumes equal monetization rates.
Cost per Mille (CPM) is the price of running an advertisement, divided by the number of thousands of persons that will be exposed to it. It’s a way of getting the “bang for the buck” and comparing whether I should use this vehicle, versus that vehicle, for my ad. Demographics of the viewer, type of ad, size of ad, location of ad, all influence the price.
Print, TV, and radio ads are paid per estimated circulation, which is a roundabout way of paying per viewer (or pageview equivalent) That’s why ratings and subscriber numbers are so important for radio/TV and magazines. Some web ads pay per click, some per view (like old media), and some per converted referral. Effective CPM (eCPM) is the total revenue from all ads being measured, regardless of how they are paid, divided by the number of thousands of persons that were exposed to it. Sometimes you’ll see breakdowns by advertising campaign, location of the unit, page it’s on, etc.
Hope that helps.
Thanks, Bill. That explanation does help me understand the ad metrics a lot better.
Best,
David
LOL, I love it, great article buddy!
Bill,
Excellent post. Google Analytics shows I have 9 articles that have been read by seeking alpha’s audience in the past month. Only one article game me a two day spike (169 view) in readership, and that may be because of the title :”Every Day feels like the crash of 1987 ~ Part One. ” Maybe, they came to just see Part Two.
In any event, a new blog aggegator investornews.com is coming online soon and will pay per view. So, this aggregator ‘gets it.”
John Bougearel
SuccessfulTradingTips.com
hey, dont forget about themoneyblogs…now that’s an aggregator!!
You should take a look at FinancialContent.com which lets you syndicate your links across our network of financial channels. The premise is simple: Your links show up on the stock quote pages, and you get traffic when users click on your links. No money changes hands.
Rumors last week that SA was going to be bought out soon; possibly fueled by (or fueling) the many posts about blog valuation and business models that have been made in March.
I don’t know if the editors own any stake in the company; while it’s possible that a few of the more famous contributors might own a small stake - since there were different standards applied to different bloggers - I consider that unlikely. So when - not if, but when - SA is sold - and it will be, but I don’t speculate as to the timeframe - basically none of the content providers will receive remuneration from the sale.
Of course, they got their exposure!
Speaking of which, when SA does get sold, why the hell would whoever bought them start paying the bloggers? Why would they bother to hire a writer who is stupid enough to hand over valuable content for free?
We at ThePanelist came to a very similar conclusion. For a small site like ours the duplication of content hurt our SEO so much that the traffic we got from SeekingAlpha was not worth it. We also found that they were changing our links to point to SeekingAlpha instead of our site.
I’ve been writing professionally since 1994. If an established magazine/newspaper asked me to write for free I’d tell the editor her was out of his mind. I contribute to Huffington Post on occasion… when it moves me. When i do contribute the comments usually run above 200. Then they email me and ask me to contribute more often. I know they’re getting paid. I don’t see a dime. I have tracked the click throughs from my HP bio page to my site and they amount to a hill of beans. Also my site is about DJ culture not politics so most of the HP readers are not interested when they do click through. The one thing no one is talking about is time. If you take your writing seriously it takes time to construct these blog posts. It’s not some 1-off, 5 minute scenario. The time you could have been spending doing any other endevor that generates revenue you’ve spent working for free. Even working at McDonald’s pays better than that. The problem is the celebrities who can’t write and the rookies who can’t write. They will continue to work for free either because they don’t need the cash or they want the exposure. That puts the pros in a tough position. But I’m with you. I’m not writing for free. I’ve already paid my dues. Hopefully other writers will follow suit and force these sites to change their policies.
We just pulled our content from SA. Very few click thrus and our google rank was slipping.
Pull the plug.
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